Skip to content

Research at St Andrews

In the field: Coase an exemplar in the tradition of Smith, Marshall and Ostrom

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

DOI

Author(s)

School/Research organisations

Abstract

This paper argues that Coase provides the primary 20th century exemplar of the grounding of analytical developments in economics in direct fieldwork observation. In particular, his focus on the business enterprise, its internal functions (including decision-making), and its external relations (including contracting) has provided a stimulus for radical developments in microeconomics and in managerial and decision economics in particular. The argument is developed by a stylization of the development of economics, referring to Adam Smith in the 18th century, Alfred Marshall in the 19th century, Ronald Coase in the 20th century, and Elinor Ostrom in the 21st century.
Close

Details

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)16-32
Number of pages17
JournalManagerial and Decision Economics
Volume36
Issue number1
Early online date10 Dec 2014
DOIs
StatePublished - 1 Jan 2015

Discover related content
Find related publications, people, projects and more using interactive charts.

View graph of relations

Related by author

  1. Decision support for firm performance by real options analytics

    Power, B. & Reid, G. C. Jan 2018 In : Managerial and Decision Economics. 39, 1, p. 56-64 9 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

  2. Performance and strategy: simultaneous equations analysis of long-lived firms

    Power, B. M. & Reid, G. C. 19 Aug 2015 In : International Journal of the Economics of Business. 22, 3, p. 345-377

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

  3. Performance and Optimality for High Technology Firms: An empirical analysis of growth and innovation

    Reid, G. C. & Ujjual, V. Dec 2013 Entrepreneurship: Motivation, Performance and Risk. Fairchild, R. (ed.). Hauppauge, NY, USA, : Nova Publishers, Vol. Chapter 3, p. 55-72

    Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter

  4. Organisational Change and Performance in Long-Lived Small Firms: A real options approach

    Reid, G. C. & Power, B. 2013 In : European Journal of Finance. 19 , 7-8, p. 791-809 19 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

  5. Minimal Capital Requirements and Domestic Credit Extension as Determinants of IPO under-pricing: Robustness and Policy Implications in a World-wide Cross Section Model

    Reid, G. C. & Dyrmose, M. 2013 (CRIEFF Discussion Papers, School of Economics & Finance; no. 1301)

    Research output: Working paperDiscussion paper

Related by journal

  1. Decision support for firm performance by real options analytics

    Power, B. & Reid, G. C. Jan 2018 In : Managerial and Decision Economics. 39, 1, p. 56-64 9 p.

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

  2. The surprising benefits of a parallel universe

    La Manna, M. M. A. Mar 2009 In : Managerial and Decision Economics. 30, 2, p. 109-117

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

  3. The Dominant Firms with Convex Technology

    Reid, G. C. 1980 In : Managerial and Decision Economics. 1, 3, p. 112-116

    Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

ID: 160062714